If We’re 100% Effective Working Remote, Why Do We Need To Come Into The Office?

And for that matter, why am I back on travel?

Travis Hubbard
4 min readJul 2, 2021

I’m supposed to be landing in D.C in an hour, but I’m sitting in the Embassy Suites in Birmingham, Alabama sipping instant coffee from a machine.

They can’t find anyone to work in the coffee shop.

It reminded me of my first day back in the office in over a year.

Photo by Crew on Unsplash

I was excited to go back on the road after having not done any work-related travel for the past 15 months. Between October 2018 and March 2020, I would be somewhere between Austin, San Diego, Phoenix, Boston, or Indianapolis a week or more a month.

When we stopped working from our main office in March 2020, we also stopped all travel.

It was weird at first, but we adapted quickly, both locally and with our teams across the United States.

We were performing well, then maybe a little too well, so now they want us to get back to normal.

Mid-Level management’s fears allayed.

When we went 100% remote we were told that we had to report weekly plans and objectives to management. That only lasted about a month.

--

--

Travis Hubbard

Developer, writer, digital alchemist. 30 years in software. MEng Stevens.