Bald

Bald: You Just Have To Suck It Up

Bald, as in eagle and shiny head. One is beautiful, the other strikes fear in the heart. I’ll leave it as an exercise for the reader to pick which one is which.

Travis Hubbard
4 min readMay 12, 2020

--

Having a bald head is amazing if you’re a swimmer or hate shopping for hair products. I’m neither, but seem to be dealing with my baldness just fine.

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

The Hairy Days

I remember having hair as if it were only yesterday. As a kid, my parents let me do whatever the fuck I wanted with my hair. They had bigger fish to fry like keeping me from getting drunk with my uncle. Good times. I had long, wavy hair that was black with a little brown here and there. Chicks dug it. Marine Corps took care of that, but it grew back when I got out. I never grew it really long again though, just kept a nice haircut.

It was the summer of 2005 when my luscious wavy locks started to really thin, right after my second kid was born and I realized this “Daddy Thing” was going to stick and it was nearing time for me to settle into a miserable “low risk” life in a cube.

Summer of 2006. Yes, and incredible 361 days later and my third child was born. A daughter. Sometime after midnight the night of her birth, I…

--

--

Travis Hubbard

Developer, writer, digital alchemist. 30 years in software. MEng Stevens.